The Temple of the Queen of Heaven is located at the center of Guwenhua Street, Nankai District, also known as “Tianfei Palace”.
Constructed in 1326, the third year of Taiding Period of the Yuan Dynasty, it underwent repeated restorations in the Ming and Qing Dynasties. The complex faces the Haihe River in the east, and its main architectures include the drama tower, flagpole, temple gate, memorial archway, front hall, major hall, sutra-preserving pavilion, Qisheng temple, bell and drum tower, side hall, and Zhangxian pavilion.
The palace is one of the three famous Mazu Temple in China, with the other two being Meizhou Mazu Temple at Putian, Fujian Province and Chaotian Palace at Beigang, Taiwan Province. It is also one of the earliest extant Mazu Temple.