Crossing the Beiguanqin River, Handan City, the Walk-imitating Bridge was originally constructed with wood. It was rebuilt as a five-hole stone bridge in 1617, the 45th year of Emperor Wanli's reign in the Ming Dynasty, resembling the structure of Zhaozhou Bridge.
The Walk-imitating Bridge is 35m long, 8.3m wide and 4m high. There are inscriptions of historical stories and animal patterns such as lions and monkeys, which are carved finely on the balustrades and balusters on each side. There stands a statue of “walk imitation” at the end of the bridge. There are dragon heads looking down from the central place of bridge opening.
As Zhuangzi Qiushui recorded that Handan residents walked elegantly, so a youngster from Shouling of Yan Kingdom went there for walk imitation. However, he not only failed to learn walking the way as the locals in Handan, but also forgot his inherent footwork. Therefore, he had to come back by crawling. According to this allusion, the bridge was named Walk-imitating Bridge. |